Innovators representing the top ten ideas presented at NASA's first iTech Forum, December 5-8, 2016.

The top three innovators recognized at the 2016 forum were Aequor, Inc., InnaMed, Inc. and Liberty BioSecurity.

Leaders from NASA, the space industry and potential investors watch final presentations from the top ten innovators at the 2016 NASA's iTech Forum at NASA Headquarters in Washington, D.C.

Kira Blackwell, iTech Program Executive and Innovation Liaison for NASA's Office of the Chief Technologist introduced NASA's Acting Chief Technologist, Dennis Andrucyk to 2016 NASA iTech Forum participants.

Deputy Administrator of the Space Technology MIssion Directorate (STMD) and Acting NASA Chief Technologist, Dennis Andrucyk welcomed the top ten NASA iTech finalists to the 2016 iTech Forum.

Dr. Jeffrey Watumull from Oceanit Laboratories presented one of Oceanit's 2016 NASA iTech finalist innovations, "The Virtual Medical Staff."

Hans Zachrau, from Airbus DS Space Systems, MAPT Team, accepted a certificate from Acting Chief Technologist Dennis Andrucyk recognizing the organization as a 2016 NASA iTech finalist.

NASA Deputy Administrator Dava Newman welcomed participants to the iTech Forum at NASA Headquarters on December 7, 2016.

NASA Deputy Administrator Dava Newman spoke on the importance of innovation as she welcomed finalists to the 2016 NASA iTech Forum.

Tak-Sing Wong and Pak Kin Wong of Pennsylvania State's SLIPS-Lab Team presented their innovative idea at a NASA iTech Impact Table Session.

Drs. Marilyn Bruno and Cynthia Burzell from Aequor, Inc. were recognized as a finalist team and for presenting one of the top three innovations at the 2016 NASA iTech Forum for "Novel Antibiofilm Molecules."

InnaMed, Inc. was named a top three innovator for their "Microfluidic Blood Device Utilizing Electrochemical Sensing." Anup Singh holds a certificate recognizing InnaMed as a 2016 NASA iTech finalist.

Dr. David Sinclair of Liberty BioSecurity presented on "Molecules to Safely Protect Against DNA Damage Caused by Ionizing Radiation in Space." A panel of judges would later recognize this as one of the top three innovations for Cycle 1 (2016) of NASA iTech.